MitchTripEU Nov Dec 2012

From Noisebridge
(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(December-2012)
(December-2012)
(3 intermediate revisions by one user not shown)
Line 272: Line 272:
 
|[https://www.c3d2.de C3D2]/[http://www.turmlabor.de Turmlabor]/[http://www.werkstadtladen.de/ Werkstadtladen], Dresden
 
|[https://www.c3d2.de C3D2]/[http://www.turmlabor.de Turmlabor]/[http://www.werkstadtladen.de/ Werkstadtladen], Dresden
 
|5:30pm
 
|5:30pm
|[http://www.turmlabor.de/wiki/turmlabor/mitch_altman_in_dd solder workshop] -- [http://www.flickr.com/photos/maltman23/sets/72157632287435915/ photos]
+
|[http://www.turmlabor.de/wiki/turmlabor/mitch_altman_in_dd solder workshop] -- [http://www.flickr.com/photos/maltman23/sets/72157632287435915/ photos]<br>-- [http://www.c3d2.de/news/pentaradio24-20121225.html interview on PentaRadio]
 
|Ralf, Johannes
 
|Ralf, Johannes
 
|-
 
|-
Line 325: Line 325:
 
|Fri, 28-Dec
 
|Fri, 28-Dec
 
|[http://events.ccc.de 29C3], Hamburg
 
|[http://events.ccc.de 29C3], Hamburg
|all day & night<br>afternoon
+
|all day & night<br>12:00pm
 
|[https://events.ccc.de/congress/2012/wiki/Solder_Workshop_day2 solder workshop]<br>[https://events.ccc.de/congress/2012/wiki/Arduino_For_Total_Newbies_Workshop Arduino For Total Newbies workshop]
 
|[https://events.ccc.de/congress/2012/wiki/Solder_Workshop_day2 solder workshop]<br>[https://events.ccc.de/congress/2012/wiki/Arduino_For_Total_Newbies_Workshop Arduino For Total Newbies workshop]
 
|
 
|
Line 331: Line 331:
 
|Sat, 29-Dec<br>
 
|Sat, 29-Dec<br>
 
|[http://events.ccc.de 29C3], Hamburg<br>''leave Hamburg for Berlin''<br>''train #ICE 905''<br> <br>
 
|[http://events.ccc.de 29C3], Hamburg<br>''leave Hamburg for Berlin''<br>''train #ICE 905''<br> <br>
|afternoon<br>''leave 9:21pm''<br>''arrive 11:12pm''<br>''late night''
+
|12:00pm<br>''leave 9:21pm''<br>''arrive 11:12pm''<br>''late night''
 
|[https://events.ccc.de/congress/2012/wiki/Arduino_For_Total_Newbies_Workshop_day3 Arduino For Total Newbies workshop]<br> <br> <br>''check into A&O Hostel, Berlin''
 
|[https://events.ccc.de/congress/2012/wiki/Arduino_For_Total_Newbies_Workshop_day3 Arduino For Total Newbies workshop]<br> <br> <br>''check into A&O Hostel, Berlin''
 
| <br> <br> <br>''Sébastien''
 
| <br> <br> <br>''Sébastien''
Line 364: Line 364:
 
|
 
|
 
|-
 
|-
|Wed, 2-Jan
+
|''Wed, 2-Jan''
|
+
|''leave Berlin HBF for Ghent St. Pieters,<br>train # ICE 650 / ICE 14 / IC 8006''
|
+
|''leave 10:49am ,<br>arrive 6:15pm''
 
|
 
|
 
|
 
|

Revision as of 02:33, 27 December 2012

Contents

Mitch's Europe Trip -- 8-Nov-2012 to 17-Jan-2013

November-2012

Date venue time event type contact
Thurs, 8-Nov leave SF, flight # UA735 10:48am
Fri, 9-Nov arrive BRU, flight # UA972
train IC 2609 for Antwerpen Centraal
train IC 2610 for Antwerpen Centraal
9:20am
leaves 10:44am
leaves 11:44am
Sat, 10-Nov check into Sheraton Place Rogier, Brussels afternoon Yvette
Sun, 11-Nov TEDxBrussels rehearsal 2:00pm talk rehearsal Yvette
Mon, 12-Nov TEDxBrussels, Brussels 9:00am talk: The Hackerspace Movement Yvette
Tues, 13-Nov check out of Sheraton Place Rogier
TEDxBrussels European Council panel, Brussels

-----
leave BRU for MAD
flight # IB3205
-----
leave MAD for LIS
flight # IB3118
-----
check into Hotel Vip Executive Art´s
11:am
2:10pm to 3:00pm

-----
leave 7:25pm
arrive 9:45pm
-----
leave 10:45pm
arrive 11:00pm
-----
night

panel discussion
photos of Antwerp, Brussels, EU Council








Yvette
Yvette








Celso
Wed, 14-Nov Celso
Thurs, 15-Nov Codebits, Lisbon 2:00pm

4:00pm
talk: Hack Your Life for fun and profit
        (talk starts 8 minutes into the video)
Arduino workshop
Celso
Fri, 16-Nov Codebits, Lisbon 4:00pm
9:00pm
solder workshop
solder workshop
Celso
Sat, 17-Nov Codebits, Lisbon Celso
Sun, 18-Nov dinner with Altlab hackerspace folks / visit Altlab 7:30pm Joao
Mon, 19-Nov
Tues, 20-Nov photos of Lisbon, Codebits, Altlab,
     Champalimaud Center for the Unknown
Wed, 21-Nov checkout Hotel Vip Executive Art´s
leave LIS for BRU
flight # IB3103/IB3208
afternoon hotel checkout
leave 4:35pm
arrive 10:15pm
meet Wim at Ghent train station
Thurs, 22-Nov
Fri, 23-Nov drive to Tourcoing
ROUMICS, Tourcoing

11:45am
2:15pm

Round Table Discussion
Round Table Discussion
Wim drives
Thomas
Sat, 24-Nov ROUMICS, Tourcoing 2:00pm Workshop -- 20-min interview with me
Sun, 25-Nov Osilab, Lille visit ruins of burned down Osilab hackerspace Charles
Mon, 26-Nov drive to Ghent photos of Lille, ROUMICS, Osilab Wim drives
Tues, 27-Nov
Wed, 28-Nov train IC 1809 from Ghent to Antwerp-Berchem
VoidWarranties, Antwerp
VoidWarranties, Antwerp
lv 9:47am, arv 10:37am
1:00pm
7:00pm

solder workshop for kids -- photos
dinner & discussion
Ward picks me up
Job
Job
Thurs, 29-Nov Open Garage, Antwerp 6:30pm 1 year birthday party + solder workshop
-- photos
Anthony
Fri, 30-Nov WhiteSpace, Ghent 8:00pm solder workshop -- photos Sandbender

December-2012

Date venue time event type contact
Sat, 1-Dec DesignCenter de Winkelhaak, Antwerp
DesignCenter de Winkelhaak, Antwerp
.
10:00am
3:00pm
.
Arduino For Total Newbies workshop
solder workshop for kids
-- photos
Deepak
Deepak
.
Sun, 2-Dec HSBxl, Brussels 2:00pm solder workshop -- photos Jurgen
Mon, 3-Dec leave Antwerp for Amsterdam
Benelux 9237
leave 4:00pm
arrive 6:14pm
Tues, 4-Dec Technologia Incognita, Amsterdam 7:00pm solder workshop -- photos Jurre
Wed, 5-Dec
Thurs, 6-Dec leave Amsterdam for Vienna,
CityNightLine train # 419 / International train #61
leave 8:31pm
Fri, 7-Dec      (continue on International train # 61) arrive Vienna, 11:44am
Sat, 8-Dec
Sun, 9-Dec Metalab, Vienna 3pm-6pm solder workshop -- photos Philipp
Mon, 10-Dec
Tues, 11-Dec leave Vienna for Bratislava
train # REX 2520
leave 1:21pm
arrive 2:27pm
Wed, 12-Dec Progressbar, Bratislava 19-23h solder workshop -- photos Juraj
Thurs, 13-Dec
Fri, 14-Dec leave Bratislava for Prague
train # EC 276 Slovan (Eurocity)
leave 2:13pm
arrive 6:21pm
Sat, 15-Dec
Sun, 16-Dec brmlab, Prague 3:00pm solder workshop -- photos ruza
Mon, 17-Dec
Tues, 18-Dec leave Prague for Dresden
Student Agency bus
leave 3:30pm
arrive 6:00pm
Wed, 19-Dec C3D2/Turmlabor/Werkstadtladen, Dresden 5:30pm solder workshop -- photos
-- interview on PentaRadio
Ralf, Johannes
Thurs, 20-Dec leave Dresden for Berlin
Fri, 21-Dec
Sat, 22-Dec Mitch's birthday
Sun, 23-Dec IN-Berlin, Berlin 15-20h 3pm-8pm Arduino For Total Newbies workshop SvenGuckes
Mon, 24-Dec
Tues, 25-Dec leave Berlin for Hamburg
Check into Generator Hostel, Hamburg
morning
afternoon
Wed, 26-Dec set up at 29C3 all day and evening
Thurs, 27-Dec 29C3, Hamburg all day & night solder workshop
Fri, 28-Dec 29C3, Hamburg all day & night
12:00pm
solder workshop
Arduino For Total Newbies workshop
Sat, 29-Dec
29C3, Hamburg
leave Hamburg for Berlin
train #ICE 905

12:00pm
leave 9:21pm
arrive 11:12pm
late night
Arduino For Total Newbies workshop


check into A&O Hostel, Berlin



Sébastien
Sun, 30-Dec EHSM, Berlin 2:00pm - 6:00pm solder workshop for kids of all ages Sébastien
Mon, 31-Dec

January-2013

Date venue time event type contact
Tues, 1-Jan
Wed, 2-Jan leave Berlin HBF for Ghent St. Pieters,
train # ICE 650 / ICE 14 / IC 8006
leave 10:49am ,
arrive 6:15pm
Thurs, 3-Jan leave Berlin HBF for Ghent St. Pieters,
train # ICE 650 / ICE 14 / IC 8006
leave 10:49am ,
arrive 6:15pm
Fri, 4-Jan leave BRU for JFK,
flight # SN501 / UA9929

2600 Meeting in NYC
leave 10:30am ,
arrive 1:05pm

evening
Sat, 5-Jan
Sun, 6-Jan
Mon, 7-Jan
Tues, 8-Jan
Wed, 9-Jan
Thurs, 10-Jan
Fri, 11-Jan
Sat, 12-Jan
Sun, 13-Jan
Mon, 14-Jan
Tues, 15-Jan
Wed, 16-Jan
Thurs, 17-Jan leave JFK for SFO,
flight # UA257
leave 2:30pm ,
arrive 5:55pm


hackerspaces

other hackerspace requests that I (sadly) couldn't fit into this trip:

city space link
BE: Genk FablabGenk http://www.fablabgenk.be
NL: Arnhem Hack42 https://hack42.nl/
NL: Den Haag RevSpace https://revspace.nl
EE: forming hackerspace



Two different workshops that Mitch can give on this Workshop Tour

1)   Variety of kits -- all ages, all skill levels, about 3 hours, kit prices range from €10 to €30 (see below for kits and prices). More info:
         https://www.noisebridge.net/wiki/Circuit_Hacking_Mondays

2)   Arduino For Total Newbies -- all skill levels, about 4 hours, €35 (plus optional €10 programming/communications cable). More info:
         http://cornfieldelectronics.com/downloads/tvbg_arduino/tvbg_arduino_workshop.htm

Items

Items that Mitch will have on his Workshop Tour:

price name description
€15 TV-B-Gone keychain turn off TVs in public places!
€15 TV-B-Gone kit turn off TVs in public places at 50 meters away!
€25 TV-B-Gone Pro turn off TVs in public places at 100 meters away!
€15 Brain Machine kit Meditate, Hallucinate, and Trip Out!
€10 TripGlasses Meditate, Hallucinate, and Trip Out!
€30 Mignonette Game kit make your own handheld game console!
€10 for one
€15 for two
Trippy RGB Waves kit interactive blinky lights!
€20 LEDcube kit animated 3D cube!
€15 MiniPOV kit write messages in the air!
€15 MintyBoost kit charge your USB enabled gadgets!
€15 BoArduino kit make your own fully functional Arduino -- for solderless breadboards!
€15 Diavolino kit make your own shield-compatible Arduino!
€10 programming and communications cable (FTDI Friend) program your Arduino clone with Windows, MacOS, or Linux!
€15 Open Heart kit animate fun patterns in the shape of a heart!
€30 LoL Shield kit Lots of LEDs! for your Arduino!
€15 Drawdio kit make noise by drawing lines with this pencil!
€15 microcontroller programmer kit (USBtinyISP) program all your AVR family chips!
€35 Arduino For Total Newbies workshop kit Learn Arduino by making TV-B-Gone as an example!

More info on many of these projects:

Requirements of the hosting spaces for Mitch's workshops

Mitch will have all of the kits with him. There is no need for anyone to purchase kits from Mitch in advance.

Each space will need to provide the following to have a successful workshop:

  • For each participant:
    • 1 soldering iron, 15W to 40W
    • 1 soldering iron stand
    • 1 cellulose (not plastic) sponge (for cleaning the soldering iron tip)
    • 1 small wire cutter (similar to 10cm wire cutters)
    • 1 or 2 AC outlets (with extension cords and/or AC power strips to make things work)
    • 1 chair
    • table space
    • enough lighting so that people can see small things while soldering


All of the above are good to have at your space so that you can continue to have soldering workshops long into the future.

  • For the Arduino For Total Newbies workshop, I also need:
    • Projector
    • Microphone and amplifier will be helpful
    • Internet (wireless or wired) is helpful




Personal tools