MitchTripUK Apr May 2013

From Noisebridge
Revision as of 19:08, 7 April 2013 by Maltman23 (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Mitch's UK (and NYC) Workshop Tour -- 10-Apr-2013 to 13-May-2013

Mitch Altman and Jimmie Rodgers are giving a Workshop Tour of the UK!
  -- 24-April through 13-May


April-2013

Date venue time event type contact
Wed, 10-Apr leave SFO for EWR
flight # UA800
-----
pick up rental car
and drive to Karen & Larry's
10:00am
arrive 6:30pm
-----

night
Karen & Larry
Thurs, 11-Apr Triptic Soul performance at The Knitting Factory 9:00pm performance Karen
Fri, 12-Apr drive to Wall, NJ
-----
Re-charge TV-B-Gone Pro batteries
.
.
Tom
Sat, 13-Apr Re-charge TV-B-Gone Pro batteries Tom
Sun, 14-Apr Re-charge TV-B-Gone Pro batteries Tom
Mon, 15-Apr Re-charge TV-B-Gone Pro batteries Tom
Tues, 16-Apr Weird Science at Jack Hanley Gallery art show Kal
Wed, 17-Apr
Thurs, 18-Apr
Fri, 19-Apr
Sat, 20-Apr
Sun, 21-Apr
Mon, 22-Apr
Tues, 23-Apr leave JFK for IAD
flight # UA5714
-----
leave IAD for LHR
flight # UA924
leave 7:30pm
arrive 8:50pm
-----

leave 9:50pm
Wed, 24-Apr arrive LHR
-----
tube, train, bus to Glen & Christine's
arrive 10:15am
-----
afternoon
.
.
Glen
Thurs, 25-Apr leave London Kings Cross for Newcastle
train # GR468000
-----
check into County By Thistle hotel
leave 7:30pm
arrive 10:41pm
-----
late night
.
.
.
Graham
Fri, 26-Apr UK Maker Faire setup all day Graham
Sat, 27-Apr UK Maker Faire Day 1, Newcastle
.
all day
?
.
solder workshop
talk: "Make A Living
     Doing What You Love"
Graham
Sun, 28-Apr UK Maker Faire Day 2, Newcastle all day
?
solder workshop
talk: "The Hackerspace Movement"
Graham
Mon, 29-Apr train to meet Pat Pat
Tues, 30-Apr check out of County By Thistle hotel
-----
leave Newcastle for Manchester
train # TP508400
-----
ride to Rachael & Asa's
noon
-----
leave 2:18pm
arrive 4:49pm
-----
.
.
.
.
.
.
Asa

May-2013

Date venue time event type contact
Wed, 1-May Rachael
Thurs, 2-May Rachael
Fri, 3-May Madlab, Manchester 1:00pm to 4:00pm solder workshop Rachael
Sat, 4-May Ye Olde Hacke Weekend
-----
leave Manchester for London
train # VT791700
-----
tube, train, bus to Glen & Christine's
afternoon
-----
leave 7:35pm
arrive 10:00pm
-----
.
workshop using Victorian materials
.
.
.
.
.
Rachael
.
.
.
.
Glen
Sun, 5-May Electromagnetic Wave, London all day solder workshop on a boat! Jonty
Mon, 6-May
Tues, 7-May
Wed, 8-May leave London for Bristol Temple Meades
train # GW????
leave ???
arrive (after 5:30pm)
Barney
Thurs, 9-May Bristol Hackspace Social, Bristol evening Tarim
Fri, 10-May Pervasive Studio
Lunchtime Talk
1:00pm to 2:00pm talk: "Hackerspaces, and the Pluses
     and Minuses of Technology"
Verity
Sat, 11-May Bristol Hackspace, Bristol
-----
leave Bristol for London
train # GW424700
-----
tube to Victoria
-----
leave Victoria for Brighton

train # SN782100
-----
taxi to Theresa's
12:00pm to 3:00pm
-----
leave 6:30pm
arrive 8:14pm
-----
.
-----
leave 9:06pm
arrive 10:00pm
.
late night
solder workshop
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Tarim
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Anna
.
Theresa
Sun, 12-May BuildBrighton, Brighton
-----
Dinner with BuildBrighton
-----
leave Brighton for London
train # SN?????
-----
Check in to Holiday Inn Heathrow
12:00pm to 3:00pm
-----
7:00pm to 10:00pm
-----
leave ?????pm
arrive ?????am
-----
late night
solder workshop
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Anna
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Mon, 13-May leave LHR for SFO,
flight # UA955

.
leave 10:35am ,
arrive 1:25pm

.



The workshop that Mitch & Jimmie can give on this Workshop Tour

  Variety of Cool Kits -- all ages, all skill levels, about 3 hours, kit prices range from €10 to €30 (see below for kits and prices). More info:
         https://www.noisebridge.net/wiki/Circuit_Hacking_Mondays

Kits!

Kits and other items that Mitch & Jimmie will have available on this Workshop Tour
(Mitch & Jimmie will bring these, or ship them ahead to you.):

price name description
£15 TV-B-Gone keychain turn off TVs in public places!
£15 TV-B-Gone kit turn off TVs in public places at 50 meters away!
£20 TV-B-Gone Pro turn off TVs in public places at 100 meters away!
£15 Brain Machine kit Meditate, Hallucinate, and Trip Out!
£10 TripGlasses Meditate, Hallucinate, and Trip Out!
£20 Mignonette Game kit make your own handheld game console!
£10 for one
£15 for two
Trippy RGB Waves kit interactive blinky lights!
£15 LEDcube kit animated 3D cube!
£15 HELLO Name Badge kit Wear your name in lights!
£15 MiniPOV kit write messages in the air!
£15 MintyBoost kit charge your USB enabled gadgets!
£15 BoArduino kit make your own fully functional Arduino -- for solderless breadboards!
£15 Diavolino kit make your own shield-compatible Arduino!
£15 programming and communications cable (FTDI Friend) program your Arduino clone with Windows, MacOS, or Linux!
£15 Open Heart kit animate fun patterns in the shape of a heart!
£20 LoL Shield kit Lots of LEDs! for your Arduino!
£15 Drawdio kit make noise by drawing lines with this pencil!
£20 Atari Punk Console kit Cool music synthesizer!
£15 microcontroller programmer kit (USBtinyISP) program all your AVR family chips!

More info on many of these projects:

Requirements of the hosting spaces for Mitch & Jimmie's workshops

Mitch & Jimmie will have all of the kits with them (or ship them ahead). There is no need for anyone to purchase kits from Mitch or Jimmie in advance.

Each space will need to provide the following to have a successful workshop:

  • For each participant:
    • 1 soldering iron, 15W to 40W
    • 1 soldering iron stand
    • 1 cellulose (not plastic) sponge (for cleaning the soldering iron tip)
    • 1 small wire cutter (similar to 10cm wire cutters)
    • 1 or 2 AC outlets (with extension cords and/or AC power strips to make things work)
    • 1 chair
    • table space
    • enough lighting so that people can see small things while soldering




It would also be nice to have printouts of the "Soldering Is Easy!" comic book available (in the language of your choice):
http://mightyohm.com/soldercomic

All of the above are good to have at your space so that you can continue to have soldering workshops long into the future.

It would also be good to have a Donation Box at the workshop!
Also, please feel free to have your space's T-shirts and other items available for sale.
Please have your space's stickers and your space's Hackerspace Passport Stamp available!



Personal tools